Homemade & Handwritten

I got a little sentimental this Christmas. That’s right. While others were out in the midst of the hustle and bustle trying to find the perfect gifts for friends and family, I was tucked away making delectable tiny treats. I’m no pro in the kitchen, but I think I pretty much mastered my Marbleized White/Chocolate Fudge and Oreo Truffles! I don’t know what happened. I guess it all started when I decided to pack a care package for my best friend that wouldn’t make it home for the holiday.
Dark Chocolate Oreo Truffles!
I probably could have just clicked “gift” on her Facebook page, or shipped something from Amazon her way. Heck, I could have done it all from the comfort of my iPhone. But this year I wanted to experience the joy of giving on a new level. I wanted to turn down the glory of high-tech-high-gloss and behold the beauty of personal sentiments made with love. Not to mention she made a public disclaimer that all she wanted for Christmas was to fund a fresh drinking water well project in another country. It’s safe to assume she would just sell a “normal” gift and pour the profit into the well-fund. But not an edible gift! This isn’t to say that I don’t fully support my friend’s endeavor to give something to people in need that live on the other side of the globe, but the holidays can be lonely without family near. So the purpose of my giving is to gift to her a little love from home. Truthfully, the whole scenario forced me to get out of my comfort zone and give my very best. Plus it was tons of yummy fun! I’m just as guilty as anyone for mindlessly inboxing a friend or relative I haven’t seen in ages. Instead, let’s say we break out the address book and pen them a letter! I’m almost sure they’ll appreciate it. They might even thank you for inducing the slightly less warm feeling they get inside, than if you’d made them a batch of ooey-gooey sweets!
If you’re interested in learning how to make some decadent candies in your kitchen, check out the Simple Cooking Channel on YouTube!!
Thanks for stopping by 😉
<3AOC
Leave a Reply

