Daily Prompt: Tainted Love

Disclaimer! I don’t drop any names in this post, but if you happen to read this and know who you are….well, you’re a part of my story and I can’t apologize for that ❤ . On to the prompt…

Breakups are difficult things. They are even more difficult when the lines of the relationship have never been defined. I can hear Johnny May singing in my ear “friends, lovers or nothin’”
One minute you’re hanging out and holding hands. The next…. Sooner or later you come to a fork in the road. It’s crazy to me by not tying-the-knot or avoiding official titles, we think when the time comes (and it always does) we’ll remain a little less-attached. This, my friends, is an impossible phenomenon. This, my friends, is called denial.
The person either decides to make your journey theirs, or they decide that something “better than” caught their eye a few miles back and they rather not make any hasty commitments. They say history repeats itself, and unfortunately, this has happened to me a handful of times. If I had to make an evaluation, I’d say the last loop around the mountain was the most dramatic. But what about getting your heart broken at 18 isn’t dramatic? Luckily for me, I dreamt it all before it ever happened.
I can’t help but think of one of the leading roles in my book A Perfect Tuesday. Jamey the heartthrob entertainer has never been dumped in his life although he has been stood up a time or two by an occasional mean girl seeking to teach his celebrity tushy a lesson. Like water off a ducks back, he doesn’t let it faze him because he doesn’t get that close – ever. For Jamey, it’s just over when it’s over, and he moves on. I kinda feel like guys are most likely to take this disconnected approach in the relationships. (I’m not saying some girls don’t either). I just think girls seek a healthy dose of closure that (many) men don’t seem to need.
My closure came in a cute little package. In my case, the other girl came on the scene, showed him the goods and actually married him. Applause! Better she than me and that’s not even a slam as much as it sounds like one. The interesting thing that my “premonition” prepared me for was what a jerk he’d turn into after he’d initially made his choice. Seriously, it was part of what came with my package: The Grow Your Own Jerk Overnight Kit. (Bless his heart.) The truth is, It just wouldn’t have worked out.
Things are pretty kosher now thanks to time and a lot of growing up. But hey, you live and you learn. It makes me wonder just how much of it was girlish infatuation. Ya know, wanting something that the other person didn’t? People aren’t always who you think they are no matter how long or how well you think you know them. Anyone that’s ever been led on knows I’m telling the truth.

Anyhow, life goes on, even if it isn’t the way you thought it might. I’m content!

Leave a Reply

