Another Author to Look Up To ~ With Cecelia Dowdy

Hello all! Well it’s another snowy day here in Kentucky. At this point I kind of feel that nobody is OVER THE SNOW more than fellow mothers with one or more children under five and perhaps the mail man. I could be wrong, but this cabin fever is no joke. On the bright side, it’s a perfect day to catch up on some writing and to highlight another amazing author. Today I am happy to have African-American writer of romantic Christian fiction, Cecelia Dowdy. Some of her titles include John’s Quest, Milk Money and one that has most peaked my interest, Chesapeake Weddings. Welcome Cecelia!

Dowdy

 

1. What’s your favorite book and Author (if they don’t coincide ) and how have they impacted your life? Have they influenced your style of writing?

I’m afraid I don’t have one favorite book/author. I read tons of fiction, mostly Christian fiction, but, I’ve never had one favorite book or author. The one book that’s impacted my life is the Holy Bible. It hasn’t really influenced my style of writing, but, the Bible has influenced the content of my stories. When I first started writing, Christian fiction was practically non-existent. When I first started reading Christian fiction, I felt that it was the genre in which I should write.

I wrote a proposal and paid an editor to read it. This was snail mail, before the days of the Internet and email. The editor wrote back, asking me if this was a Christian romance. I’d never heard of such a thing. I researched it, found some books and authors. I then began reading voraciously – too many titles and names to list – trying to get a feel for these wonderful stories. I joined Romance Writers of America (RWA), then I joined Faith Hope and Love (the Christian chapter of RWA). Other than the Bible, there wasn’t one book or author who influenced my writing, but, it was an organization that had a great influence on my career. I attended RWA conferences, met other Christian authors in FH-L. Connecting with these people, then meeting with editors at conferences, that’s what really impacted my life as a writer. These meetings and conferences led to my first book contracts.

Later, after I’d had a book published, I joined American Christian Fiction Writers (ACFW). This organization also helped to impact my life through fellowship (both online and in person) and writing advice, leading to a few more book contracts.

2. When did you know you were an Author?
When I was around 28 years old, I didn’t have a book to read during my lunch break. I started writing a book. That’s when I decided that I wanted to become an author. I’ve been writing ever since.

3. In five to ten words, what do you want to be known for as a writer?
Christian, faith-filled fiction that touches your heart.

4. What’s new? (Share about a WIP or your latest book)
I plan on self publishing a book later this year. I’m not sure what the title will be, but, I can share the content.

Twenty-five year old Rhea Morrison is still grieving over the violent death of her preacher husband, Stan. Due to financial problems, she accepts a loan from her injured identical twin sister, Raven. The loan comes with a price – Rhea must attend a singles retreat to spy on pastor Martin Lane, Raven’s new love interest. Things get interesting when Rhea finds herself falling for the handsome preacher. When she discovers he’s a former successful baker, he offers to help save her bakery. However, Rhea is worried, how will her high-strung, emotional twin sister react when she finds out that Rhea has feelings for Martin? Rhea also feels torn – Martin is a pastor, and after her experience with Stan, she’d vowed to never get romantically involved with a pastor again.

Martin is drawn to beautiful, sexy Rhea Morrison. He falls for the young widow while advising her about her failing bakery. However, he’s upset that Rhea refuses to date a pastor. Martin is determined to lead his father’s church, but some of the church members object to having an unmarried lead pastor. Martin begins to doubt his call to preach, haunted by a dark secret from his past. Can he move beyond all of the negativity and trust God with his calling?

You can follow Cecelia on Twitter, Facebook and at her Christian fiction blog http://www.ceceliadowdy.com/blog/

Thanks for stopping by 😉

<3AOC

Leave a Reply

