Is This Thing On?

4464019859_cf5ffc481a_zEver feel like you’re talking to yourself? This happens to me every once in a while. Ok, it happens a lot. I think twice about saying something if assume no one wants to hear what I have to say. Most everyone has heard this question >> If a tree falls in the forest and there’s no one around, does it still make a sound? << The answer. Of course it does. But does it matter? I’ve found what matters – it’s what really matters to me.

To those of you that still don’t know, I am an avid JM fan, ok? This pop-icon isn’t really known for saying all the right things, in all the right places (about all the right people). Alas, he is human. But generally, most can agree the man can sing and play with the best of ’em. He already has! Anyway, I have a point in bringing him up. This morning I was scrolling through hundreds of notes on my iPhone: writing prompts, old grocery lists, random scene ideas for my stories, and quotes. Don’t you just love quotes? Here’s one that struck me.

“You want to know the way to my heart… good spelling and good grammar, good punctuation, capitalize…it’s done”  -John Mayer

Ok, so – I have an “on-going” note of JM quotes, which I realize makes me sound a bit obsessive, but it is what is. Truth is, I am way more obsessed with his mode of inspiration than I am pining over his person. Although, his personality effects the manner in which he expresses himself. Clear as mud? In recent conversation with a friend and fellow blogger, I was both comforted and shocked about our not-so-different, personal writer woes. His? Punctuation. Mine? Grammar…and punctuation. Yikes! These things are easy to admit to a friend, but to the writers’ community at large, not so much. I mean, aren’t I suppose to be one of “them”? I have disturbingly-beautiful things to express about the world around me. Am I expected to lock up my imagination or cease from writing because I don’t remember, what I don’t remember about sentence structure? This sounds a little drastic, but I think there’s a balance. 497px-Davy_Crockett

Did you know that David Crockett – the Congressmen and daring frontiersmen aka Davy Crockett, wrote as he spoke? He refused to can his thoughts on politics, as well as his view of himself through the public eye. He didn’t want anyone editing his words, as he felt it devalued his authenticity. (To me- that’s fantastic!!) Everyone owns their authentic self.

“…Big men have more important matters to attend to than crossing their ts—, and dotting their i’s—, and such like small things.” -Crockett (Preface, Feb 1, 1834)

fredIt took the course of many years to learn the simple skills of reading and penmanship for Fredrick Douglass, as it was illegal for this ex-slave, writer and orator, to be educated in the 1800’s.

“If I was in a separate room any considerable length of time, I was sure to be suspected of having a book, and was at once called to give an account of myself.” -Douglass

My concluding thoughts? 1. What matters to me…. it’s important enough to write about. 2. I’m going to continue writing to the best of my ability. If my writing boo-boo’s annoy you, or disrupt the order of your day, maybe you should #carryon. Maybe I need to take advantage of my resources and enroll in workshops or an English class, as a refresher. Maybe we shouldn’t judge others as lesser than , because of their shortcomings or present disabilities (as if this makes their work less than adequate) Maybe you should listen to more John Mayer. You should most definitely read from the narratives of the legends that are, David Crockett and Fredrick Douglass.

“Them some heavy words….” – Pahud (Paul Blart: Mall Cop)

I love words. Whilst I can appreciate the clean sweep and flawless rhythm of proper unbroken, rhetoric within literature – I’d like to pose two questions for the aspiring writer. Not the over-confidant one, but the one who doubts his capabilities because of personal hang-ups. Questions. Is what you have to say worth more than what people think of how you express it? Who must you reach in order to “feel” heard?

👋 <3AOC

Leave a Reply

