Greater Than

image
Loneliness is greater than
Longing for
A joy you’ve never known
Emptiness is greater than
Starving for
The respect you’ve never tasted

Either way
Why is such shame attached to these?
As if it’s a sin to feel them.

All my prayers sound the same
Like
“Oh my God,
I need you to do something!”
And other pleas like
“Help me trust again,
My Greater Than”

What will it take?
To revive the part of me that’s died

“What do you want from me?
I have nothing to keep from you”
And thus,
Nothing left to hide behind

Loneliness is
Knowing what it’s like
To be warm
Emptiness is
Remembering what it’s like
To be full

2 thoughts on “Greater Than

Leave a Reply

