Fill Me In

image
Image Origin Unknown

Last night I had to sit through a wedding rehearsal. I know, lucky me! I ended up getting asked to fill-in for a girl with the same name as me.

It took my mind a minute to wrap itself around exactly what the bride-to-be was asking. In fact, I think she had to repeat herself twice. It was as if she was speaking to me through a bubble. When it popped I snapped out of it.

“Can you fill-in for Allie?”

I nodded, presumably with a really dumbfounded look on my face.

“Oh, yeah….sure.” I said finally

Then the whole thing became really funny to me because:
1. I wasn’t supposed to be there.
And
2. I don’t believe in coincidence.

So while my four-year-old was preoccupied with NetFlix (insert Hallelujah Chorus), I walked down that aisle, with a big smile, arm and arm with a fella I’d never seen in my life.

And get this, he was a fill-in too. Anyway. We split at the front, I stood at the green floral tape marked “Allie” and then afterwards we all ate pizza.

If only I could figure out how to get a fill-in to clean my house.

Leave a Reply

